Science 2.0, Getting Started


About two weeks ago our director told me about a surprise (to me) two-week article deadline for an upcoming conference. I’ve been really quiet here because our article was supposed to be due April 10th and I was frantically trying to write that. Last night we got an extension, and now have another month to finish it. I was delighted to have to time to really make the piece more solid.

This morning, I decided to do a little more work on the literature review, discovering other works to cite and organizing them. The main article I’ve been concentrating on is broadly about Science 2.0. One of the first things I did this morning was to look for, not find, and then create a Science 2.0 reading list in WorldCat. I know, how very librarian of me.

Science 2.0
WorldCat: List: Science 2.0 / Open Science: http://www.worldcat.org/profiles/PFAnderson/lists/651073
I made it, threw it out to the social media, incorporated some suggestions and responses, got over 70 views in three hours … but wait. I’m getting ahead of myself.

To begin with, I had a lot of trouble making the reading list. This is an emerging topic, which means there is not yet a standardized vocabulary to describe it or search for it. Hunting for relevant books and articles available in WorldCat was a real chore. I encountered problems like this one.

Over 10 million results for microblogging in science, medicine or research …
Science 2.0

… when really there are only 15 articles on microblogging period.
Science 2.0

Yes, I tried advanced search, changing boolean operators, etcetera. Obviously I need to learn a few more tricks for efficient searching in WorldCat. There must be a better way, right? I was able to find some good items (books and articles), but it was painful and required a lot of creativity and determination. Somehow, I didn’t think that was the point of using WorldCat. I thought an experienced search could use a library catalog to quickly focus in on high quality material. That isn’t what happened.

Well, so I posted what I found to FriendFeed in the Science 2.0 room.

FriendFeed: Science 2.0: http://friendfeed.com/rooms/science-2-0

This is where I have found the best, strongest, most dynamic and active community and discussions on the topic of social media and technologies in science research.

Science 2.0
FriendFeed: “I tried to make a bibliography of Science 2.0 & Open Science resources in WorldCat”: http://friendfeed.com/e/a5479248-c873-4100-9257-294d96cc260a/I-tried-to-make-a-bibliography-of-Science-2-0/

The discussion took off, with generous and thoughtful comments, which I much appreciated. It began with suggestions of specific publications. To add these to the bibliography, I had to hunt them down individually, one at a time. Not very efficient. There was no easy way to search for them, no citation matcher, no “more like this” button.

In addition to the suggestions of books and articles, people suggested a small set of excellent Science 2.0 blogs. Well, you don’t find blogs, even authoritative ones, in library catalogs. So those could not be added. Then folks mentioned CiteULike and Delicious as spaces in which people have been collecting a more diverse set of resources.

Delicious: Science 2.0 Search Results:
Science 2.0
Delicious: Science 2.0: http://delicious.com/tag/science2.0

CiteULike: Science 2.0 Search Results:
Science 2.0
CiteULike: Search results for: (science OR research OR medicine OR healthcare OR “health care”) 2.0 [more than 800 articles]: http://www.citeulike.org/search/all?q=%28science+OR+research+OR+medicine+OR+healthcare+OR+%22health+care%22%29+2.0

Verrrrrry nice. Lots of stuff, lots of good stuff, easy to see what’s there, easy to add to my own collections. But not possible to add to the WorldCat bibliography. Apples and oranges in more ways than one, but with a foundation question of what is most useful, usable, and which lends itself best to discoverability of appropriate resources.

One of the other tools I’ve seen being used by the FriendFeed community is Google Docs, where folks are creating and collecting Science 2.0 tools and publications in specific subsets, using it rather like a wiki. Here is one of my favorite examples of this (created by Jean-Claude Bradley, I think [see comment below, not JCB, who was it?]).

Online Gene Annotation Resources.
Science 2.0 - Google Docs

Another favorite example, this one really is by JC Bradley.
Science 2.0 / Open Science: JC Bradley's FriendFeed Science
examples of FriendFeed in science spreadsheet

With a suggestion to use CiteULike, I started hunting for a Science 2.0 group there. I found some really interesting social media/tech articles and groups, but not a group for Science 2.0 itself.

Science 2.0

So I made one.

Science 2.0
CiteULike: Groups: Science 2.0 / Open Science: http://www.citeulike.org/group/9932/library

Just getting started, but feel free to come and play with us. Meanwhile, our newest idea in the FriendFeed room is to create a blended stream from these various sources using Yahoo Pipes, and … well, we’re geeks. We’ll figure something out. But will WorldCat?

8 responses to “Science 2.0, Getting Started

  1. Great post, and very timely for me. Thanks!

  2. No I didn’t set up the Gene Annotation spreadsheet – you might be thinking of the examples of FriendFeed in science spreadsheet

  3. Pingback: Tech Trends (Important Pieces I’m Trying to Read) « Emerging Technologies Librarian

  4. Chris Shaffer

    WorldCat doesn’t support Boolean operators.

    http://www.oclc.org/worldcat/help/en/search/default.htm#boolean

  5. I was getting that impression. But … it seems so core, such a foundation concept in library system interfaces I really had trouble believing it. Kept trying to find ways to make it work. They gave me a survey yesterday asking how I liked their search interface. Well, I didn’t, sorry. It is great for known-item searching, but God forbid you want to do anything else. Thanks, Chris!

  6. Pingback: Science 2.0: sources « Science Intelligence and InfoPros

  7. To tell you that I mentioned your great list on my own blog: http://scienceintelligence.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

