The Big Collection of Advent Calendars 2008


Alright, folks, here is the full version, and now that it is done, here are all the links as well. Now, these will probably stay around through New year’s Day, so don’t wait – if something intrigues you, go look at it right away.
The collection includes a lot of activities, games, music, videos, recipes, comics, kid’s stuff, educational stuff, and of course some resources and opportunities for doing good and learning about the history and meaning of the advent calendar. Would you believe there are even TWO Dr. Who Advent Calendars? I hope you enjoy the collection. Next on my seasonal to-do list is things to do when you are on the long winter holiday or stuck at home ill or on a snow day.
Oh – how did I find all these? Right, that would be nice to share, wouldn’t it? For many of them, people shared them on Twitter or other social media. Searching Twitter helped find more, and the following Google search helped find a bunch more.
Google Search: (“advent calendar”) (online OR interactive) (specials OR “every day” OR “come back”): http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q=(%22advent+calendar%22)+(online+OR+interactive)+(specials+OR+%22every+day%22+OR+%22come+back%22)&start=0&sa=N

About Advent Calendars
USCCB: Christmas Season: http://www.usccb.org/advent/
Episcopalian Diocese of Washington: Advent Calendar 2008: http://www.edow.org/spirituality/advent/2008.html
Squidoo: Christmas Countdown: http://www.squidoo.com/Christmas_Countdown
Cooking Calendars
AllRecipes: Christmas Cookie Countdown:
http://allrecipes.com/HowTo/Christmas-Cookie-Countdown-2007/Detail.aspx
The Toronto Star: Cookie a day until Christmas: http://www.thestar.com/living/Food/article/544174
Jamie Oliver: Countdown to Christmas: http://www.jamieoliver.com/christmas/calendar.php
Kid’s Calendars
Boowa & Kwala: Online Advent Calendar: http://www.boowakwala.com/calendar/online-advent-calendar.html
DFC: Advent Calendar: http://www.rhgdigital3.co.uk/thedfcadvent/
Help Kidz Learn: Advent Calendar: http://www.helpkidzlearn.com/advent_calendar/advent_calendar.swf
Woodlands Junior School (Tonbridge): http://www.woodlands-junior.kent.sch.uk/customs/Xmas/calendar/
KidThing: Free Countdown to Christmas, 25 surprises: http://store.kidthing.com/detail/?ID=MTI3Mw==
KidZone Finland: Christmas Calendar: http://www.kidzonefinland.org.uk/christmas/flash_content/mainpage.html
LEGO City Advent Calendar (a real life toy to buy)
Teaching Mom: Learning Advent Calendar: http://www.teachingmom.com/features/advent.html
Educational Calendars
BBC: Bach: Advent Calendar: http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio3/bach/adventcalendar/
BBC: Today’s Advent Calendar: http://news.bbc.co.uk/today/hi/today/newsid_7749000/7749926.stm
Intute: 2008 Advent Calendar: http://www.intute.ac.uk/artsandhumanities/blog/category/advent-calendar/2008-advent-calendar/
National Museums Liverpool: http://www.liverpoolmuseums.org.uk/online/advent/
New Zealand: Tepapa Museum: Christmas in the Collections: http://collections.tepapa.govt.nz/Theme.aspx?irn=823
Boston: Hubble Space Telescope: Advent Calendar: http://www.boston.com/bigpicture/2008/12/hubble_space_telescope_advent.html
British Trams Online (Trains): Advent Calendar: http://www.britishtramsonline.co.uk/advent.html
Official Word Magazine Advent Calendar Now Online: http://www.wordmagazine.co.uk/content/official-2008-word-magazine-advent-calendar-now-online
Marketing Calendars
Jamie Cullum: Cullumdar: http://advent.jamiecullum.com/
ThrillJockey: http://www.thrilljockey.com/holiday/?utm_source=AdventCalendar&utm_medium=Promo&utm_campaign=Outlets
WebUser: Online Advent Calendar 2008: http://www.webuser.co.uk/specials/272999.html
Do-It-Yourself Calendars
eHow: How to Sew a Countdown-to-Christmas Calendar: http://www.ehow.com/how_4557225_sew-countdowntochristmas-calendar.html
Unique Advent Calendar from Matchboxes: http://www.associatedcontent.com/article/90655/unique_advent_calendar_from_matchboxes.html?cat=30
Maya Made: Countdown Calendar: http://mayamade.blogspot.com/2008/11/countdown-calendar.html
“Good Will” Calendars
Action for Blind People: http://www.actionforblindpeople.org.uk/advent-day-1,659,SA.html
Advent Calendar on Sustainable Development: http://www.advent-calendar.info/
Goodwill Sweater Advent Calendar, part 1 – sample tweet (Tweet):
Sweater #21 and Houston Goodwill Stores http://tinyurl.com/8g4ufn
Goodwill Sweater Advent Calendar, part 2: http://matthewwettergreen.com/2008/12/21/sweater-21-and-houston-goodwill-stores/
Goodwill Sweater Advent Calendar, part 3: Tweet:
Christmas party at Philip’s. Brought all the sweaters and everyone’s wearing one. Only a couple people missing.
Goodwill Sweater Advent Calendar, part 4: Holly, Jolly Christmas Sweaters: http://www.chron.com/disp/story.mpl/life/main/6172196.html
Entertainment & Multimedia Calendars
Calm Asylum: Advent Calendar: http://calm.adventcalendaronline.com/
Dickinson Dees – Games Advent Calendar: http://dickinsondees.adventcalendaronline.com/
Straight No Chaser: http://christmascountdown.sncmusic.com/
Dr Who: Advent Calendar: http://atts-merrychristmas.blogspot.com/
BBC: Dr. Who: Advent Calendar: http://www.bbc.co.uk/doctorwho/s4/misc/advent08/
Electric December: Online Seasonal Countdown Calendar: http://www.electricdecember.org/08/calendar/
French Cinema: http://ns352037.ovh.net/~avent/gdpn/
Throwing Toasters: Grant’s Advent Calendar 2008: http://www.throwingtoasters.com/advent/2008/12/24/grant’s-advent-calendar-2008-video-podcast-day-024-christmas-eve/
PlayLouder: Advent Calendar: http://playlouder.com/content/17579/maps-advent-calendar-free-music-every-day-til-christmas-eve
Holidays on the Net: A Holiday Video Countdown to Christmas: http://www.holidays.net/adventcalendar/
VisuTech: Season’s Greetings: http://www.visumedia.info/advent/visutech/
Blog Calendars
Brendan McKillop: Christmas Comic Cover Countdown Calendar: http://www.brendanmckillip.com/labels/Comic%20Advent%20Calendar%202008.html
2008 Comics Should Be Good Advent Calendar: http://goodcomics.comicbookresources.com/2008/12/01/2008-comics-should-be-good-advent-calendar/
Organized Christmas: Holiday Tip of the Day: http://organizedchristmas.com/
Organized Christmas: Christmas Countdown: http://organizedchristmas.com/christmas-countdown/calendar
Google Holiday Calendars & Countdowns
Google: Countdown to Christmas Doodle 15: http://www.google.com/doodle15.html
Google: Countdown to Christmas Holiday Logos/Doodles Archive: http://www.google.com/intl/en/holidaylogos.html
Google’s Countdown to 2009: http://www.google.com/countdownto2009/
Google: Countdown to 2009:
Christmas Eve: the Weather at the North Pole? Clear and Cold
NORAD: Countdown to Track Santa: http://www.noradsanta.org/en/countdown.html
Lesson Learned?
Tweet: @Blackfeathers:
I still got a lot of time. 376 days until Christmas. LOL

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s