A Historical Overview of Edtech Trends


I know, I know – Slideshare embeds, two days in a row? I try not to, but this one is (a) too good not to share, (b) has been sorely neglected and underappreciated, and (c) is really relevant to the National Educational Technology Plan event in Second Life this week. Oh, I haven’t mentioned that, have I?

Facebook: National Educational Technology Plan – Second Life Event: http://www.facebook.com/event.php?eid=163866392474&ref=mf

SLUM: NETP Public Forum: http://slum.wetpaint.com/page/NETP+Public+Forum

The backstory is that I attended the recent public forum for the NETP here in Ann Arbor. I will share my notes here in the blog soon. One of the pieces I didn’t hear there was talk about how educational technologies have changed over time and how rapidly they are changing now. As someone tracking emerging technologies in general and educational technologies specifically I’m wondering how we make a five-year plan when the hot new technology for education two years from now will probably be something most people would have trouble imagining now? So when I was clicking related links on a different presentation this morning and found this one that steps through a variety of educational technologies and how they have evolved over the past 100 years, I was fascinated and wanted to share it with all of you. I am thinking of it as background for the meeting on Thursday. Don’t let the title confuse you – it really is about broader tech issues and not specifically web 2.0. I suspect that might be why it has been underutilized. I hope you enjoy!

Educational Uses of Web 2.0 Based Applications: http://www.slideshare.net/mqaissaunee/educational-uses-of-web-20-based-applications-presentation

Leave a Reply

