Making It Happen: Social Media & Social Learning for Healthcare


Today, I was one of the speakers for the first Making it Happen: Achieving Measurable Results Through Education. I’ve been preparing like crazy for days, fleshing out my thoughts and notes, grabbing screenshots I didn’t use for a slide deck I probably should have made but didn’t. Halfway through I came up with this crazy idea of trying to show people concepts about social media and online collaborative technologies by using them for the presentation. I am not at ALL sure this was a wise idea, but it was a creative effort and a good learning experience (at least for me). Lesson One: Find out what sort of tech will be available for presenting before designing the presentation. I should have remembered that.

Part one was the mindmap. I made a mindmap that had a lot of content in it, knowing full well that I would not be using most of it for the actual event, but that it would be a resource for the audience to come back to on their own if they wish to explore further. Of course, I hope they will want to explore some of the resources. I studded the mindmap with actual links, for for those who go browser through, look for the little round dots at the end of the lines. The dark dots are external links, the light dots mean click for more details. This is a small snapshot of the mindmap, too small to read. If you click on the image, it will take you to Flickr for the full unpacked mindmap (at least the version there was when I made the image, but I keep updating it), but the image doesn’t have interactive links. For those, click on the link under the picture, but I learned today during the presentation you don’t want to use Internet Explorer, and should probably use either Firefox or Google Chrome as the web browser.

Mindmap: Social Media & Social Learning for Healthcare
This map is available here: http://www.mindmeister.com/96682328/social-networking-in-learning-techniques-tools

One of the things I wanted to do was to show people some of the other social media or collaboration tools that are available. I couldn’t possibly show very many, but I could show some very different examples to give a sense of the range. Mindmeister was what I used for the mindmap, and I emphasized that you can use this collaboratively, with multiple people editing and revising. I also like the range of filetypes for output and export, as well as the interactivity.

As I skimmed through a high level overview of the content in the mindmap, I had plugged in a few links to other types of tools that would support key concepts. For example, I used Prezi to highlight some of the concepts in the discussion about the recent meme on the “higher education bubble.” Again, what I show here is a screenshot in Flickr, with the link to the interactive Prezi immediately below.

Prezi: The Bubble
Prezi: The Bubble: http://prezi.com/usxsqmpip_ro/the-bubble/

There were other things I wanted to show folks there, but there wasn’t time. I wanted to show them this video by John King about the context that shaped higher education, how it has changed, and some of the shaped higher ed might begin to take based on current contexts.

John L. King: Librarianship, Now and in the Future

I wanted to whip out to this older slideshow of mine that is mostly screenshots of examples of how folks were using social media for education.

Social Media in Education, A Family Photo Album

Instead, we talked a bit about last week’s new Pew Report, the Social Life of Health Information, 2010, and then I whipped over to the section on Personal Learning Networks, where I spent a chunk of time talking about #HCSM, which is absolutely one of my top personal learning network spaces, with incredible content and people. Again, I wanted to show them this the overview from last year.

Lessons Learned in Health Care Social Media, 2010

But I really wanted to show Storify, and there is so much excellent #HCSM content in Storify, mostly thanks to @DocForeman. I wanted to show them this from last week:
Engaging patients with #hcsm: Let’s do more of what we’re already doing right.

but I was having a little trouble with the presentation computer and clicked on something else from last March, which is also pretty good:
Tracking Patient Satisfaction and Clinical Outcomes.

I wish I’d had more time to show them some of the amazing range of tools available for collaboration, but I showed them a partial list in the mindmap, and spent some time talking about best practices, pros and cons, and made a little clever (I thought) parody of Ramon Santiago y Cajal’s first chapter in his book for young investigators.

Beginner’s Traps:

Trap.1:
RSC: “Undue admiration of authority”
Me: Undue admiration of the self-proclaimed expert.

Trap 2:
RSC: “The most important problems are already solved.”
Me: The most interesting new tech to try are too hard.

Trap 3:
RSC: “Preoccupation with applied science.”
Me: Preoccupation with being serious.

Trap 4:
RSC: “Perceived lack of ability”.
Me: Ditto.

One response to “Making It Happen: Social Media & Social Learning for Healthcare

  1. Pingback: Social Media & Higher Education: My Two Cents | Emerging Technologies Librarian

Leave a Reply

