Picture as Pitch


Picture as pitch

People talk about planning your elevator pitch for a topic, and practicing it. I’m no good at that. I keep thinking about it, but … it is kind of an overwhelming proposition. So here is one where it came up, spontaneously, and worked!

I was taking the picture above with my phone outside my office. One of the faculty walked by. This is how the conversation went.

Fac: How’d it turn out?
Me: What? Oh! Nice! Here, see?
Fac: (takes phone) Very nice! I do that, too, take pictures to use as a background. (starts to nod and walk off)
Me: Oh, but that isn’t what I do with them.
Fac: (pause)
Me: I email them and send them to Twitter and photosharing services.
Fac: You can do that?!
Me: Here: (shows how)
4blog
I send them to Twitter and Foursquare and Facebook and Flickr and email them to my blog. They end up in four or five different places, where I can engage with a much broader community of people who love … uh, flowers. Or photographs.
Fac: BRILLIANT!!

Hopefully, they’ll go away thinking of how easily this could be used for sharing information far beyond flowers.🙂

2 responses to “Picture as Pitch

  1. Hi there! Would you mind if I share your blog with my zynga group? There’s a lot of people that I think would really enjoy your content. Please let me know. Cheers

    Like

Leave a Reply

