Systematic Review Teams, Processes, Experiences


Recently I was privileged to speak with the students of Tiffany Veinot’s course in the School of Information on evidence-based practice and processes. It was an amazing and diverse group of students, with librarians and healthcare professionals from most (if not all) of the healthcare programs on campus! The students had insightful questions, the conversation went on much longer than it should have given the time allotted, but was as richly rewarding for me as I hope it was for them. The approach this year focused more on case studies and storytelling — what is it really like? The slides can’t give you the whole sense of it, but at least it is a start.

Systematic Review Teams, Processes, Experiences

Presentation is also viewable as a Google Presentation.

Systematic Review Teams, Processes, Experiences https://docs.google.com/presentation/d/1NaaYxG15LqxxlahSI2L1pLu7Q8W870B66pox79prtQY/edit

2 responses to “Systematic Review Teams, Processes, Experiences

  1. Hi! I really like your slides on systematic reviewing and your previous posts on SR. I have just become a research associate systematic reviewer (SR), where I am receiving training to be a SR. I just wondered what you thought of being a SR as a career? I really like doing it, and I think it is really important for medicine, but the place I am working might lose its funding, and there are not that many SR posts that come up. I’m not sure if I should if being a SR is a really a viable career, and perhaps I should totally focus on my other career interest which is Clinical neuroscience, perhaps give up SR. JUst finding a career development in medical research really hard. Really appreciate your great and helpful work!

    Amber

    Like

    • Hi, Amber,

      These are PURELY my own thoughts. Systematic reviews and the techniques evidence-based medicine and evidence-based practice are one component of a well rounded clinical decisionmaking process. I would never recommend that systematic review findings be applied independently without placing them in the context of the “big picture”, the patient, their history, their unique blend of conditions, treatments, tolerances, wants, needs, desires, and social environment. As far as the methodologies and skills of working as a systematic reviews team member, these are ALWAYS useful and can be extended to many other environments and topics. I would never think of building systematic review skills as excluding other work later, but rather to make you more useful and flexible. It is a useful way of thinking, and in no way excludes other work. That said, I would strongly recommend diversifying. I don’t think of the ability to do systematic reviews as a one track career. Rather it supplements, broadens, and extends the impact of clinical work. Learn as much as you can about both this and at least one other clinical topic, if not more.

      Good luck,

      Patricia

      Like

Leave a Reply

