Enriching Scholarship Recap, Plus … #UMTTC


Enriching Scholarship 2012

Wow! I survived! Now I’m all excited, want to write at least a dozen blogposts to share all this Enriching Scholarship learning with folk, but … I’m still kind of worn out, too, and my house could benefit from some post-ES12 tidying. So, let me start small and give you an overview. That way, if I don’t get around to the rest of the blogposts, at least you have this starter piece. Not to mention that there are quite a few other blogpost ideas that are not strictly ES12 that I’d like to mention. I suspect that the ones that will get written first are the ones people ask for (and you’ll get a chance to vote!). There were a lot of sessions I wish I could have attended but couldn’t, so take a look at the schedule and hunt for blogposts or tweets from other people about those. You can also track the #UMTTC hashtag, which stands for the University of Michigan Teaching and Technology Collaborative. UM has our special Enriching Scholarship (ES) skillshare week once a year, but the participants almost always offer similar classes throughout the year, through the UMTTC member groups.

I started out the week under a handicap, since the three weeks previous my son and I spent taking turns being ill with various viruses. I’m still hoping I don’t come down with the last one he had, which was pretty nasty. I’d volunteered to lead 6 sessions on topics that I thought were pretty important, but because of family issues, was not able to prepare in the way I’d intended. So I was disappointed with myself and what I was able to do, but everyone was really very kind and enthusiastic about how things turned out, and lucky for me, one of the sessions was cancelled. It would probably be worth a blog post to talk about what tools I turn to in a crunch like that, which tools allow me to get my ideas organized, and usable for a presentation, and sharable when I’m in a pinch for time.

MONDAY

Enriching Scholarship always starts off with a keynote session. This year it was Elliot Soloway. I live tweeted that, AND it was excellent, so there is an easy one. There was a poster session, too, but I didn’t manage to see much there, so I am hoping others will blog about it. Elliot focused on the challenges and rewards of using mobile devices for education. There were awards presented for campus faculty who’ve done exceptionally innovative teaching, which truly deserves to be highlighted.

I had one of my own sessions that afternoon, on Books Born as Blogs and Kindred Beasts, in which we looked at not just blogs but other online and social media environments that are resulting in formal publications, for both popular as well as scholarly content. I am thinking of having a series of short posts looking at individual examples or case studies, starting off with Misha Angrist’s This Is A Human Being (TIAHB), which has changed my life.

TUESDAY

The next session I took was Data in the Classroom: It’s Not Just for Nerds Anymore!. I tried to live tweet it, but could not keep up with all the great tools they shared. Their slides are in Slideshare, so between the slides and the tweets, there is an easy blogpost.

My session that afternoon was Tech Talk: An Overview of the Cutting Edge of Educational Technologies. I’ve done this session for a few years now. It seems to turn out functionally as kind of a sequel to the keynote. In it, we have a recap of what’s been going on in the Cool Toys Conversations group and blog, as well as an overview of what various thinktanks are projecting as important emerging trends in educational technologies. This year I added my own distillation of important trends.

WEDNESDAY

This was a FUN day. I was really worried about not being prepared for my next sessions, so I dropped a few of the sessions I’d wanted to take, but I just couldn’t drop them all. Awesome iOS Apps was first up, taught by a bunch of friends and colleagues. Part of what they were talking about were some apps I’d downloaded but wasn’t yet using effectively (Evernote), but there were other innovative uses of creative tools as well. I did not livetweet much here, so I have to depend on my memory about what was most interesting. I better blog this one early.

Next was Increasing Motivation and Learning by Gamifying Teaching with Barry Fishman, Mika Lavaque-Manty, and Michelle Aebersold. I’ve worked with Michelle and Barry, so was interested both for the topic as well as the people, but Mika was the real organizer and coordinator. Each faculty member was using gamifying in very different topics (education, nursing, politics) and in very different ways. I livetweeted most of this. The class discussion was wonderful, and came up with a lot of inspiring ideas

THURSDAY

Thursday was one of my two relatively challenging days. Nice to end a long week that way.😉 I was part of leading sessions in both the morning and afternoon.

The morning was a truly splendid and wonderful collaboration with colleagues from the UM Trends and Technology Team. We wanted to let folks know we existed and some of the things we do, and also wanted to share tools and strategies that will help people share their stories. The session was Top Ten Tools To Tell Terrific Tales. We just couldn’t limit ourselves to ten, though. We have some great open online content to support the session, and had people in a Google Hangout, participating remotely.

Thursday’s afternoon session was the one I was most passionate about and felt was my most important session. Public Online Social Learning Environments: An Overview With Implications for Higher Education looked at current trends in adult learning spaces and the current market forces driving their evolution and impacts on traditional higher education.

FRIDAY

Friday was interesting. I attended a fascinating session in the morning, contributed to a conference presentation via a Google Hangout over lunch, and had my last session in the afternoon. You see why I’m tired, and want to wait to do more blogposts until next week?

The morning session was Using Social Media to Teach Engineering Process by my friend Bruce Maxim, an fascinating look at game design with social media integration to recruit women to engineering. Lots of takeaways from this, mostly from the very interesting thought process behind how the game was designed. I was multitasking, trying to prepare for my afternoon session, so this is another I should blog sooner rather than later, so that I remember it.

My conference presentation began immediately as the morning session ended. This was another partnership with incredible colleagues. We met via Twitter and created, submitted, and presented a presentation without ever meeting as a group face to face in real life. This was a repeat of our presentation at Computers in Libraries last month on Google Plus for libraries, which we did for the Maryland/Delaware Library Association combined meeting. My portion was on Google Hangouts. We have the slides in Slideshare, but they aren’t entirely readable, so some explanation to go along is helpful.

My last session for the week was on digital curation tools. Paper.li and Pinterest and Pearltrees, Oh My!: Digital Curation Tools for Education. Again, a great conversation wrapped around the presented content.

So, now comes your part. If I actually write up all these blogposts, that is a whole lot of work. Some are easier than others, and I’ll probably do those anyway. Chances are that while I would love to write all of these, I will run out of time. But you tell me which ones you want to hear about most, and the ones with the most votes will be ones I make sure actually get written.

Survey here.

FUTURE BLOGPOSTS:
A: Time Crunch Tools
B: Elliot Soloway ES12 Keynote
C: UM Teaching Innovation Prize
D: Books Born as Blogs and Kindred Beasts
E: Series of posts on #bookbornasblog examples & case studies
F: Misha Angrist’s This Is A Human Being (TIAHB) Changed My Life
F: Data in the Classroom
G: Tech Talk 2012
H: Awesome iOS Apps
I: Increasing Motivation and Learning by Gamifying Teaching
J: Top Ten Tools To Tell Terrific Tales
K: Public Online Social Learning Environments
L: Using Social Media to Teach Engineering Process
M: Google Plus and Google Hangouts
N: Paper.li and Pinterest and Pearltrees, Oh My!: Digital Curation Tools for Education

2 responses to “Enriching Scholarship Recap, Plus … #UMTTC

  1. Pingback: Elliot Soloway at Enriching Scholarship 2012 #UMTTC | Emerging Technologies Librarian

  2. Pingback: Games, Girls, Tech & Teaching at #UMTTC | Emerging Technologies Librarian

Leave a Reply

