#YourHealthRecord — Voting


Last week I made and posted a very homegrown amateur video for the #YourHealthRecord challenge contest from the Office of the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology (see more of their challenges). Today, I’d like to collect a few of the videos I like done by other people, and say what I like about them, in hopes that you will also go vote. It’s simple. You do need to make an account on the site, but aside from that, just click on the word “VOTE” for the videos you like.

Many of the video are much more professionally produced; some are even rougher than mine is. For my own criteria, I was looking more for really great stories than I was for fancy production. I did not vote for many of the videos that are currently at the top of the voting, in part because they gave me the impression of being fancy over honest, and in part because I strongly suspect that they are “stuffing the ballot box”. Some of the top videos are so boring with such weak stories that I really suspect they simply got all their production team and patients to vote, and that the votes don’t accurately reflect “Popular Choice.” (There are some of the top videos I could not view because they were not in Youtube and my web browser wouldn’t show them to me. I’m guessing they required Flash. Something for folks to think about for the future — even if you have the video somewhere else, please, ALSO put it in Youtube!)

Here are the videos that are currently at the top for the contest.

Video Gallery, Sort by Votes; 2012-08-29 at 10.56.41 AM
What’s in Your Health Record: Video Gallery: Sort by Votes http://yourrecord.challenge.gov/submissions/search?&page=1&sort=vote&terms=&utf8=✓

(A)
Here is my video voting page. (Yes, I would like for it to have more than two votes. Good stuff next.)

My medical record says WHAT???: http://yourrecord.challenge.gov/submissions/9720-my-medical-record-says-what

(B)
This one is my favorite. Why? I once wrote a book about how to use healthcare information from the Internet with your healthcare team. Once of the most important recommendations I made wasn’t about the Internet, though, it was about keeping a healthcare diary, taking notes, and keeping good records about when you had appointments, who you met with, what questions you asked, what answers you got, what symptoms you had when, and so forth. That was before personal health records (PHR) and electronic health records (EHR) were in common use, back in 2002-2004. The closest we came back then were people making Google Docs spreadsheets to share with family and doctors, against the recommendations of security and privacy experts. It was so important, that people did it anyway. We have better options available now. This video might be a little rough around the edges production-wise, but it does a really great job of showing why and how to keep your own healthcare information.

Personal Health Records: The Notebook: http://yourrecord.challenge.gov/submissions/9713-personal-health-records-the-notebook

(C)
“Simply ask for the records, and be firm until the records are provided.” That’s my favorite line in this video. Yes, he’s reading from a script, again, maybe not the fanciest production, but a great real-person story of using medical records to try to avoid being put on disability, permanently, and trying hard to learn what is needed to understand what is happening and what has already been done. The collection of surgeries, bone braces, boots, and X-rays are all rather impressive, even though he doesn’t directly discuss the illustrative props. A good story.

Take Control of Your Records: http://yourrecord.challenge.gov/submissions/9690-take-control-of-your-records

(D)
Do you really need that risky procedure? Does your child? Your unborn child? What do you need to know to find out for sure? The title and abstract don’t begin to explain the story behind this video, which is an exceptionally valuable illustration of the useful and relevant content hidden not just in your own record but also those of your family and loved ones.

For your health: http://yourrecord.challenge.gov/submissions/9732-for-your-health

(E)
It seems like a simple question — “Which doctor prescribed that med for me? The one I need to survive?” It’s simple if you have your medical record handy. It’s not if you just phone the clinic and try to talk them into a refill.

Adrenaline Shot: http://yourrecord.challenge.gov/submissions/9734-adrenaline-shot

(F)
This one is rather glitzy and cute as far as the design and production, but it does raise an important perspective for looking at medical information: “Is that weird thing scary? Or is it normal for me?”

Why Should You Check Your Medical Records? http://yourrecord.challenge.gov/submissions/9701-why-should-you-check-your-medical-record

(G)
This very simple video mentions something some of the others don’t — sometimes it is NOT easy to get your records, even if you have the right, even if you ask, even if you pay, even if you have the money to pay, sometimes you can’t get your records. There is something wrong with that, but what do you do?

Tear Down Those Walls: http://yourrecord.challenge.gov/submissions/9660-tear-down-those-walls

(H)
What I like about this one is that it is simple, happy, heart-warming, attractive without being overly fancy, easy to understand, engaging. I am really surprised this doesn’t have more votes, because it makes the key points so approachable, with nothing fancy. Bravo!

Julie’s Record: http://yourrecord.challenge.gov/submissions/9714-julie-s-record

(I)
This one actually IS high in the vote counts, but I’m listing it here anyway. This is the only one I’ve seen that shows the medical record as a potential teaching tool or health literacy tool. There are a few videos that are done by kids, which is something I really like, but this one is the win for me because of how it shows the learning opportunities.

Your Electronic Medical Record Follows You! http://yourrecord.challenge.gov/submissions/9685-your-electronic-medical-record-follows-you

(J)
All right, all right. I’m just listing this one because I thought it was cute and clever. No particularly profound insights, but attractive and cleverly produced. Exactly what I said I wasn’t looking for, but I voted for it anyway.

Red Dots and Chicken Pox: http://yourrecord.challenge.gov/submissions/9697-red-dots-and-chicken-pox

I hope you go watch some of these on your own, and click VOTE!

Leave a Reply

