What Patients Think about Clinical Trial Engagement (#patientchat)


At the Doctor's Office

I had really wanted to participate in this Twitter chat today (#patientchat), on how patients find clinical trials, decide to engage with them, what resources they use, their expectations, and their concerns. I missed the chat, but it is archived in Symplur, so I was able to scroll through, search, dig, prowl around, and find my favorite bits. Since I went through all of that, I thought I’d share it. I’d recommend reading more deeply in the transcript for anyone in clinical trial research or recruitment, patients with basically any kind of diagnosis (as Mighty Casey eloquently said), people interested in translational medicine (where patients play a crucial role), as well as clinicians. Evidently, patients consider clinical trial recommendation from the primary care clinicians to be an obligation, not an optional part of providing care. Who knew? I bet we could automate relevant clinical trial notifications in EHR and as part of clinic visit prep. Why not? Explore below and see what other surprises and creative nuggets appear.

One response to “What Patients Think about Clinical Trial Engagement (#patientchat)

  1. Pingback: What Patients Think About Clinical Trials, Take 2 (#bioethx) | Emerging Technologies Librarian

Leave a Reply

